News Brief: Nominations Sought for Miami Beach Hispanic Heritage Month

Romero Britto

The Miami Beach Hispanic Affairs Committee has opened up nominations for the 2013 Hispanic Heritage Month Awards.  The Committee will select a winner in one of each of the following categories: educator, businessperson, public safety hero &/or provider, social services provider, artist, youth (community activism), and any Hispanic resident of Miami Beach.

In celebration of Hispanic Heritage Month, the City of Miami Beach honors those that have contributed positively to the Miami Beach community in their respective professional field and live or work in the City of Miami Beach. The nomination must include the nominee’s full name, address, phone number, and an explanation on how the person has contributed to the Miami Beach community. Detailed nominations must be received by Friday, June 28, 2013 at 5pm. The awards will be presented during the Miami Beach Hispanic Heritage Month Celebration in October.

The Hispanic Affairs Committee serves as an advisory capacity to the City Commission and the City Administration in respect to matters pertaining to the Hispanic community of the City of Miami Beach.

Previous award honorees include:

2002: Jorge M Gonzalez, David de la Espriella, Victor Diaz.

2003: Eva Barreto, Liliam Lopez, Tanya Ludwig.

2004: Raymond Adrian, Alfredo Gonzalez, Aida Marrero, Jorge Martinez.

2005: Luis Alsina, Frank Carollo, Lupe Diaz, Marie Towers.

2006: Maritza Ejenbaum, Michael Gongora, Daniel Morgalo, Kelly Villoch.

2007: Kathy Abbate, Julio Blanco, Romero Britto, Nathalia Ramos, Dr Karmenchu Santana-Vega, Diana Susi.

2008: Goldie James Maldonado, Magaly Madrid, Rafael Oviedo, Daniel Veitia.

2009: Armando Hernandez, Gabriel Paez, Howard Kaufman, Ines Flax, Pedro Martinez.

2010: Elsa Urquiza, Luis Hernandez, Maria Acosta, Margarita Cepeda, Fernando Cid de Diego

2011: Ana Bolt, Becky Cohen, German Pena, Magnolia Martinez, Susan Riener.

2012: Mark Causey, Bryant Del Toro, Samuel Karkassoni, Richard Martinez, Mara Mignardi, Bea Pernia.

Nomination forms are available at City Hall and online here and can be submitted via the Internet or via E-mail to; by fax to 786.394.4149; by mail to City of Miami Beach, Office of Communications, 1700 Convention Center Drive, Miami Beach, FL, 33139.

Speak Your Mind